Log in

Or connect using:

londoner lost

adventures in the smoke

Name:
Bronnyelsp
Birthdate:
11 December 1980
Location:
External Services:
  • bronnyelsp@livejournal.com
  • none AIM status
Schools:
...the bathroom mirror has not budged, and the woman who lives there can tell the truth from the stuff that they say. She looks me in the eye and says, "Would you prefer the easy way? No? Well, OK then, don't cry."

Vital stats:

Thirty (ulp) something, female, short, brunette, plump.

Person behind them:

Feminist, environmentalist pseudo-hippified vegan. Full of wanderlust and family love, affection-craving, friends-missing, footloose but not fancy-free. (Some who wander are lost.) Pro-choice, pro-LGBT rights, pro-female ordination, evolution-affirming, not-quite-Trinitarian, non-Biblical-literalist Christian (good little Anglican choir-girl, honest to Godde).

Y-generation and appropriately self-involved. Found a vocation, which has somewhat reduced the self-involvement and the whinging! "What shall I do with my life" self-involvement has given way to "is my practice good enough and what should I be doing to improve it that I'm not?" self-involvement.

Love cats and like to cook vegan stuff that everyone else looks at suspiciously. Also have a habit of hectoring people about the three Rs and how to reduce one's carbon footprint.

Location:

London. Home: Lower Clapton, Hackney. Work: as a tenant in a set of chambers in the predictable part of town.

Education and occupation:

This makes as much sense out of order as in -- like Pulp Fiction, only perhaps less cool.

In October 2006, I had just landed a job as an office manager with the National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children, where I stayed until August 2007. Prior to that, I worked as a temporary admin-type person for various recruitment agencies. Prior to that, as an EFL teacher. Prior that that, I got a BA in English and Religous Studies and a twelve-month MA in RS that I could've invested more in. But didn't. And prior to that, of course, I was a kid at school.

In October 2007 I became a student again and completed the Graduate Diploma in Law, an equivalency course to a British law degree, which is possibly the toughest thing I have ever done in my life. I am about to begin a career as a barrister and have just finished the Bar Vocational Course to that end. Joined an inn. Mooted. Tried (and failed!) to get pro bono experience.

I was called to the Bar in August 2009 and returned briefly to temping to keep body and soul together before a two-week holiday back to Turkey at the end of September and beginning pupillage in October, when I also graduated with my LLB.

I did pupillage adjacent to Gray's Inn from October 2009 to October 2010 then remained an uncomfortable two months, squatting. Thence, in December 2010 I hopped a fifteen minute walk away to my current work "home."

Movements:

Born in London. Moved to Calgary at age three, to Vancouver the following year, went through school to the end of first year university there. Montreal for the last three years of university, then Kingston, Ontario for the following academic year (to get that MA). Fled to Istanbul for two years to teach English, then back to London. Have lived here since October 2005, first with Justin, then with himself and his girlfriend Georgie, then after "girlfriend" became "fiancee" and afterwards "wife"... re-located as of summer 2008, then again in August 2009 due to my flatmate wanting to move her boyfriend in, then again in March 2010 due to the landlord selling up, then AGAIN in October 2011 due to the landlord hiking the rent! Please can I control my own housing from now on, thank you.

Family and friends:

Mother and step-father (Ruth and Keith) in Vancouver, also step-brother (Shawn) and step-sister (Shari), both with partners(ish) and children (Shawn, Lorraine, Graydon; Shari, Darryl, Lucas, Alyssa). Grandmother (Margaret, Nana) also in Vancouver. Aunts in Banff (Sarah) and Calgary (Karen). Cousins (sons of aunts) in Fernie, B.C. (Karen's sons Matthew and Adam), and one who is newly returned to Vancouver from Switzerland (my brother-cousin, James, Sarah's son). Uncle (Mark) in Jersey (Channel Islands, not New) with wife (Amanda) and two more cousins, eight-year-old boy-girl twins (Tirion and Peter). In London I have my mum's cousin (Tom) his wife (Ruth), and their daughters (the gorgeous girls: Lilian, Leah and Molly). There are other cousins, but mostly they're it.

University friends have scattered but Shubha, Sorcha and Abby were my roommates. The Vancouver friends I've held onto include Joanna and Jessica. My Istanbul teaching posse includes but is not limited to Alex, Julia, Brody, Stephen, Gabriel, Allison, Kitty and Katherine. In London I have Janet, who was in fact my first roommate, sharing a flat with my mother and me when I was one; and firenightingale. And any of her friends who happen to be hanging about.

In the flat in West Hampstead, by the end, I lived with Susannah and Susannah only -- our mouthy, toothless, cancer-ridden fifteen-year-old black and white cat, Daisy, having decamped out the kitchen window in late July. We think she left because her time had come.

For a time I shared the bottom of a house in Hackney with Richard, who mentors young offenders, and John, a graduate art student. Our landlord then sold and we moved, which at that stage seemed just my luck. I moved in with Josephine, who has become both house-mate and stand-in mother, in March 2010. Then, in October 2011, a short walk away, to the split-level with garden that I now share with little Leo the cat and flatmate Jean. Miraculously, I remain... so far.

And that's me.

Statistics

Welcome to the new LiveJournal

Some changes have been made to LiveJournal, and we hope you enjoy them! As we continue to improve the site on a daily basis to make your experience here better and faster, we would greatly appreciate your feedback about these changes. Please let us know what we can do for you!

Send feedback

Switch back to old version

LiveJournal Feedback

See a bug? Let us know! Here you can also share your thoughts and ideas about updates to LiveJournal

Your request has been filed. You can track the progress of your request at:
If you have any other questions or comments, you can add them to that request at any time.

Send another report Close feedback form

If you're a LiveJournal user, you will be logged in after submitting your request.

(optional, if you're a LiveJournal user only)

(optional, if you're a LiveJournal user only)

(not shown to the public)

If you have a billing inquiry, please go here to submit your question.

Provide a link to the page where you are experiencing the error

Do not include any sensitive information, such as your password or phone number. No HTML allowed.

If you can't pass the human test, email your inquiry to: support@livejournal.com